Formula 1

Ferrari confirms: Frederic Vasseur 2023 new team boss!

​Now things are happening in quick succession: After the departure of Frederic Vasseur as Alfa Romeo team boss, Ferrari confirms that the Frenchman will succeed Mattia Binotto in Maranello from January 9th!

Ferrari confirms: From January 9, 2023, Frenchman Frédéric (Fred) Vasseur will be the new team boss of the most famous racing team in the world, as team boss and general manager, as the Italians announce. He replaces Mattia Binotto, who resigned at the end of 2022.

Ferrari CEO Benedetto Vigna: “We are very pleased to welcome Frederic Vasseur. We were impressed by how he has balanced his technical expertise with leadership qualities over the years and celebrated great successes. Vasseur is a born leader and that will give the team fresh energy.”

Frederic Vasseur says: “It is a great honor for me to take the wheel of Scuderia Ferrari. For anyone like me who feels such a great passion for motorsport, Ferrari is the pinnacle. I can’t wait to start working in Maranello. And I will do everything I can to continue writing the great story of Ferrari and to achieve the best possible results for the Tifosi around the world.”

Who is Frederic Vasseur?

What spoke for the French as the new team boss of Ferrari? He had proven at Renault (now Alpine) that he could run a factory racing team. He only left his compatriots because manager Cyril Abiteboul preferred to be in the limelight himself as team boss.

Vasseur has helped Alfa Romeo improve to sixth place in the 2022 Constructors’ Cup and helped pave the way for Audi’s entry into Formula 1. He is known as a team player who can listen, love for the sport is obvious and he has plenty of experience. He moves on the delicate political stage of the premier class with a smile on his face and a good deal of callousness. Very important: He is close friends with Ferrari star Charles Leclerc.

Frédéric “Fred” Vasseur studied aerospace engineering before founding a racing team (ASM) and was immediately successful – national title in the French Formula 3 in 1998 with the Belgian David Saelens, then four triumphs in a row in the F3 Euro Series , starring Jamie Green, Lewis Hamilton, Paul di Resta and Romain Grosjean.

In 2004, ASM became ART Grand Prix in cooperation with Nicholas Todt (the son of former Ferrari boss and later FIA President Jean Todt). And the successes continued: Four titles in the GP2 series (equivalent to today’s Formula 2) – with Nico Rosberg 2005, Lewis Hamilton 2006, Nico Hülkenberg 2009 and Stoffel Vandoorne 2015.

In the GP3 series, these ART drivers won the title: Esteban Gutiérrez 2010, Valtteri Bottas 2011, Esteban Ocon 2015, Charles Leclerc 2016, George Russell 2017 as well as Anthoine Hubert 2018, in the new Formula 3 since 2019 won last season In 2022 the Frenchman Victor Martins won the title with ART.

In Formula 2, ART triumphed with George Russell in 2018 and Nyck de Vries in 2019. All of the drivers named made the leap into Formula 1, four have won Grands Prix.

All Ferrari team bosses

From 2023: Frederic Vasseur
2019-2022: Mattia Binotto
2014-2018: Maurizio Arrivabene
2014: Marco Mattiacci
2007-2014: Stefano Domenicali
1993-2007: Jean Todt
1992/1993: Sante Ghedini
1991: Claudio Lombardi
1989-1991: Cesare Fiorio
1978-1988: Marco Piccinini
1977: Robert Nosetto
1976: Daniele Audetto
1976: Guido Rosani
1974/1975: Luca Montezemolo
1973: Sandro Colombo
1971/1972: Peter Schetty
1968-1970: Franco Gozzi
1967: Franco Lini
1962-1966: Eugenio Dragoni
1958-1961: Romolo Tavoni
1957: Mino Amorotti
1956: Eraldo Sculati
1952-1955: Nello Ugolini
1947-1951: Federico Giberti
1935-1940: Nello Ugolini
1934: Federico Giberti
1932/1933: Mario Lolli
1930/1931: Saracco Ferrari

Formula 1 calendar 2023: China GP officially cancelled

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
Breaking News
%d bloggers like this: