7 Turkish sites on UNESCO’s tentative heritage list

7 Turkish sites on UNESCO’s tentative heritage list

Turkish Culture Ministry says Turkey has 78 sites listed on UNESCO’s tentative list

Seven more Turkish sites have been added to UNESCO’s tentative World Heritage List, the Culture Ministry said.

In a statement, the ministry said the number of sites from Turkey on the UNESCO list was now 78.

Among the cultural heritages are the Priene archaeological site (in the Aegean province of Aydin), Sarikaya Roman bath (in central Yozgat province), Harput historic city (in eastern Elazig province), Justinianus bridge in western Turkey, as well as eastern province of Tokat – an early cultural heritage of Anatolian Turkish civilization as well as Niksar, the capital of Turkish Danishmend dynasty that ruled north-central and eastern Anatolia in the 11th and 12th centuries.

Underground waterworks called kastel and livas in southeastern Gaziantep province and wood roofed and wooden posted mosques in Anatolia including, Esrefoglu in Konya, Kastamonu Mahmut Bey, Sivrihisar Ulu, Afyonkarahisar Ulu as well as Ankara’s Arslanhane Mosque.

UNESCO’s tentative list is a pre-step for the heritage list and it is consists of entities that are conveyed by the member states to the World Heritage Committee for nomination to the World Heritage List.

A total of 17 sites in Turkey including historic areas of Istanbul, Hattusha: the Hittite Capital in central Anatolia, as well as Mount Nemrut in southeastern Turkey, are on the list of UNESCO’s World Heritage List.


Your email address will not be published.